0 Menu

NO BABIES - 'Someone To Watch Over Me' LP

by No Babies


Artist: No Babies
Title: Someone To Watch Over Me

Label: Upset The Rhythm
Catalogue Number: UTR104
Formats: LP / DIGITAL

Running Time: 25 mins
Release Date: Friday 9th March

Track listing:

01. DMFB
02. Hazia
03. The Weight
04. The Grains, The Fruit, The Land, The Blood
05. Nettle
06. Rabbit Hole
07. Luna Nueva / Luna Negra
08. Puzzle Pieces

09. Internalized
10. In a Dream
11. False Binary
12. Ice Forms All Around
13. Someone To Watch Over Me

Packaging: Reverse board sleeve, lyric insert, download card, limited red/blue marbled vinyl.

"Oakland, CA’s No Babies return with their second LP, another furiously ecstatic exploration of the overlapping margins of punk, hardcore, and no wave. The pieces we’ve come to expect are all here: Jasmine Watson’s invectives against capitalism, binaries, police; Ricky Martyr’s inimitable and always surprising stop-start guitar; horns of all stripes breaking through the noise (Misha Poleschuck on tenor sax, clarinet); a nimble and powerful jazz-influenced rhythm section (Laura DeVeber on bass, Sean Nieves on drums). Their particular brand of composed/improvised noise/music has never been chaos at all (they’ve always known exactly what they’re doing), and this time around the band seems more at one than ever, aided by the crispness and brightness of Jack Shirley’s able production. These are walls of sound, something like a runaway train, or a writhing sea serpent, and we are along for the ride. This is music that feels necessary. These are songs that sound vital to survival. We must play them or we will explode. We must play them in order to explode. California in 2018 is a place that feels difficult to survive in. Our friends and neighbours are murdered by the state and its negligence; our homes could crumble or be stolen from us at a moment’s notice; capital is bearing down in new and even more unimaginably cruel ways. The land itself is telling us that we shouldn’t be here: fire, mudslides, earthquakes. ‘Someone to Watch Over Me’ is a reminder of the twin powers of sorrow and strength, noise and melody, anger and joy. “Joy / Joy / Joy / Joy / Joy / Joy / Joy / Joy” Watson screams at the end of the album-closing titular song. Joy may be the only way out of this fresh hell—No Babies make joyful noise and for that we should all be grateful." - Grace Ambrose

‘Someone to Watch Over Me’ is released through Upset The Rhythm on March 2nd, available on 180g blue/red marbled vinyl and digitally. ‘Someone to Watch Over Me’ follows on from the band’s debut LP of 2011 and its successive fleet of empowering/imploding 7”s and EPs.

Website: https://nobabies.bandcamp.com/