0 Menu

BUFFET LUNCH - 'Cheeks / Mild Weather' 7"

by Buffet Lunch


Artist: Buffet Lunch
Title: ‘Cheeks / Mild Weather’ 7”

Catalogue Number: UTR143
Formats: 7” / DIGITAL
Running Time: 6 mins

Track listing:

1. Cheeks

2. Mild Weather

‘Cheeks/Mild Weather’ is a spanking new 7” from Scots post-punk popsters Buffet Lunch, a keen-eyed follow-up to the group’s well-received debut LP ‘The Power of Rocks’ (2021, Upset The Rhythm).

This single is very loosely influenced by the collective experience of the pandemic, adding to the already exhausted canon of cultural Covid artefacts. The A side ‘Cheeks’ is concerned with the inside, whilst the outside is very much catered for by ‘Mild Weather’ on side B.

‘Cheeks’ is centred around the sub-bass of an old Italian organ and the honking sax of Iain McCall, telling the tale of a squashed individual. The over-zealous approach to layers hopefully adding to the feeling of claustrophobia and mundane delirium. If ‘Cheeks’ is the wind up, ‘Mild Weather’ is the release.

‘Mild Weather’ is an ode to the desire to spend a week in the sun. It’s also about enjoying that prize to the full and then returning back to the slog. Jayne Dent (of Me Lost Me) lends her exquisite vocal here providing the centre-point to a Casio-led symphony, with acoustic and electronic drums fighting for attention throughout.

As is the current norm, these tracks were written and recorded remotely and in a couple of sessions in Edinburgh at the beginning of 2021. ‘Cheeks / Mild Weather’ will be released on 7” vinyl and digitally on Upset The Rhythm this November.