0 Menu

PRIMO! - 'Sogni' LP



Artist: Primo!
Title: Sogni

Label: Upset The Rhythm
Catalogue Number: UTR129
Formats: LP / DIGITAL

Running Time: 30 mins
Release Date: Friday 17th April

Track listing:
01. Things to Do
02. Perfect Paper
03. Machine
04. Best and Fairest
05. Comedy Show
06. Love Days
07. 1000 Words
08. Rolling Stone
09. Diamond Days
10. Present
11. Up in the Air
12. Reverie

Packaging: Vinyl: Limited 180g vinyl version available. Sleeve: reverse board. Insert: double-sided offset paper lyric sheet. Download code: included.

Primo! will release of their second full length album, Sogni, on April 17. Sogni is the follow up to 2018’s Amici. Drawing from the same collective musical lexicon as seen with Amici, Sogni (which translates from the Italian as 'Dreams') reflects on themes of decision-making, change, time, heartbreak and the practicalities of work and daily life. Primo!'s music is a study of duality, weaving through these themes with an idiosyncratic delivery that is punctuated by post-punk sensibilities, upbeat jangle and unexpected electronic flourishes.

Sogni sees the introduction of Amy Hill on bass, adding to the original trio of Suzanne Walker (drums), Violetta Del Conte-Race and Xanthe Waite (guitars). Xanthe and Amy both play in Melbourne class act Terry too! There’s a freshness here, a breaking of new territory that's a testament to the group’s collaborative work ethic and experience in their associated bands. Spanning just under 30 minutes, Sogni’s twelve songs were conceived collectively in the rehearsal room and perfected in a live setting, before being recorded to an 8-track with Al Montfort (Terry, Total Control, UV Race) across a number of home studios in Melbourne.

The resulting LP comes with a languid and fluid pace. Opener “Things To Do” sets the tone for Sogni, a record that reflects Primo!’s day-to-day life, with sharp lyrics and a chiming encouragement. “Perfect Paper” propels the album into cruise, with splintering guitars, “Machine” highlights the work-hierarchy struggle (you told me just what I should do / but the problem is you’re only human / and I just can’t listen to you / machine, machine, machine”). “Best & Fairest” questions the idea of an ideal life, while “Love Days” reflects on past relationships and “Diamond Day” deals in accidentally being swept up in love. Before long, the LP is wrapped up with a hazy and intimate final track, “Reverie”. Primo! are making guitar music that explores the boundaries of everyday life with calm levity, tilted grace and grit. Catch them touring Sogni in 2020!

“Primo! lands somewhere between Flying Nun-style jangle and the extreme minimalism of Young Marble Giants, all while sounding uniquely of Melbourne’s current, thoughtfully witty art-punk moment” - Jenn Pelly, Pitchfork